WhatsApp users know by now that the status on the app is available for 24 hours and then it disappears. The feature was introduced about two years ago and has since been revamped for users to share videos and photos with their friends and contacts. When you do check the WhatsApp status of a particular user, the users is then notified and knows who checked it. But, there is a way for you to check someone’s status without them finding out.
You can use the ‘Read Receipt’ feature on WhatsApp to access this option. Essentially what the ‘ Read Receipt’ feature does is show you who’s read your message. When you see a message that has been sent by you with two tick marks, it means that the message has been delivered. When the tick marks turn blue, it means that the message that you’ve sent has been read by the receiver. Now, when you turn the ‘Read Receipts’ feature off, it also has the added benefit of not letting the person whose status you’ve checked out know about it.
Remember that when you do turn off the feature, you will not be able to see who has checked out your status as well. It’s essentially a one-way street, really. So, if you’re going to be a bit sneaky about it, you could ideally turn off the ‘Read Receipt’ feature every time you want to check up on someone’s status. But, honestly, who really has the time for that? Plus, you don’t want to seem like a stalker do you? In fact, we’ve even got article on all the new options and features on WhatsApp that you can check out, right here.